The  ITIL Guide ITIL RSS Feed


Art StatueITIL V3 and V2 Comparison

The revised ITIL V3 books were published in May 2007, bringing about a number of changes. What we can see from ITIL 3 is a re-evaluation of how ITIL sits within an organisation.

ITIL 3 seeks to build on the success of ITIL 2 and remains a framework of best practice and guidance from which organisations adopt the relevant parts.

In summary, ITIL 3 contains virtually all of ITIL 2 but it has brought those processes up-to-date.

Below is an outline of the key differences.



ITIL 2 is positioned around Support and Delivery of IT Services based upon the following process areas:

Service Desk

Incident Management

Problem Management

Configuration Management

Change Management

Release Management

Service Level Management

Availability Management

Capacity Management

IT Service Continuity Management

Financial Management for IT Services

ITIL 3 has taken the V2 process areas and grouped them logically into a phased lifecycle approach, as follows:

Service Strategy

  • Business Relationship Management
  • Financial Management
  • Demand Management
  • Service Portfolio Management

Service Design

  • Availability Management
  • Capacity Management
  • Information Security Management
  • IT Service Continuity Management
  • Service Catalogue Management
  • Service Level Management
  • Supplier Management

Service Transition

  • Service Asset & Configuration Management
  • Knowledge Management
  • Change Management
  • Release & Deployment Management

Service Operation

  • Service Desk
  • Access Management
  • Event Management
  • Incident Management
  • Request Fulfilment
  • Problem Management

Continual Service Improvement


© RuleWorks - All Rights Reserved - Policy - - Sitemap